Friday, August 24, 2012

West Indies Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2012 in Sri Lanka - Darren Sammy West Indies Captain

West Indies Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2012 in Sri Lanka

St John’s Antigua — The West Indies Cricket Board’s (WICB) Selection Panel today named the West Indies 15-man squad for the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) World T20 Tournament in Sri Lanka in September 2012.

Darren Sammy -West Indies Captain for ICC T20 World Cup 2012

Darren Sammy-West Indies Captain-ICc T20 2012

The WICB Selection Panel has kept faith with the nucleus of the squad which defeated New Zealand in the recent Digicel T20 Series in south Florida. Darren Bravo makes a return after missing the second half of the West Indies tour of England and the Digicel Series at home against New Zealand due to injury.

The squad boasts a number of the leading power-hitters in world as well as several world-class allrounders. The batting is led by Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard who are destructive in this format. Openers Lendl Simmons, Johnson Charles and Dwayne Smith have also done well for West Indies in the past at the top of the order.

The allrounders: Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell and Marlon Samuels, have all proven their quality with bat and ball in this format, while wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin brings a wealth of experience and know-how in this format.

The spin bowling department is led by Sunil Narine, who has excelled since his international debut last December 2011. The other slow bowler is experienced leg-spinner Samuel Badree.

The two main fast bowlers in the squad are the experienced Fidel Edwards and Ravi Rampaul, who can be called upon at any stage in the innings.

Dwayne Bravo -West Indies Vice Captain for ICC T20 World Cup

Dwayne Bravo- Vice Captain - West Indies

West Indies Squad for ICC World Cup Twenty20 2012 Cricket Tournament in Sri Lanka

  • Darren Sammy (Captain)
  • Dwayne Bravo (Vice Captain)
  • Samuel Badree
  • Darren Bravo
  • Johnson Charles
  • Fidel Edwards
  • Chris Gayle
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Sunil Narine
  • Denesh Ramdin (Wicket-keeper)
  • Ravi Rampaul
  • Andre Russell
  • Marlon Samuels
  • Lendl Simmons
  • Dwayne Smith

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...